Costumes

GOOD NIGHT

I’m going to address the elephant in the room first: I didn’t use an actual bat. I used part of a handle for a shovel. I like the look it gives. It looks a little more worn and used. I sanded the rough parts away, and washed it to remove all the dust.

The next thing I did was draw some guidelines with pencil to make sure the parts looked the way I wanted.

good-night

For all of the colors, I used paint pens. The letters ended up a little jagged, but that was easier than trying to use different stencils. I printed out the letter design online and cut out the shapes with an exacto knife. I filled in the red (it took a couple coats to get the color I wanted) and then traced around with the black. Quick note: don’t use really thick, or really thin markers. That’s why the black is jagged.

design

Next, I did the diamond design just to make sure the size was what I wanted. I ended up only using two diamonds because of the width of the bat. The big thing to me was making sure the diamonds were centered. Advice: do the white first. I ended up having to do the white two or three times because the other colors blended into the white.

quotes.JPG

The quotes were simply written on. You can use any of your favorite Harley Quinn quotes. I wouldn’t use really long ones. I did, and one quote almost covered the whole bat, but it was my favorite quote. “You think I’m just a doll. A doll that’s pink and light. A doll you can arrange anyway you like. But you’re wrong.” (I’m not completely sure Harley said this, but I think it fits her well).

After all the paint dried, I coated the whole bat in two coats of Mod Podge. That gave the shine, and sealed it from major damage.

The tape on the end was medical tape with stick on one side. You could also use the tape that goes around hockey sticks or actual bats. The medical tape was easier to find.

 

Leave a Reply

