Ramblings

“Imagine” by John Lennon

I’ve always been a fan of The Beatles, since I could ask for them to be played from my car seat. I got into the solo careers when I was in middle school. More accurately, I got into Paul McCartney’s solo career. I didn’t listen to much of the other three, except this song.

“Imagine” is a beautiful song asking for differences to be put aside and for peace. The song is amazing and really simple in terms of how it sounds.

Pentatonix is probably my favorite music group right now. They released their new cover of “Imagine” last Friday, and it was worth waiting for.

With everything going on right now, the portrayal of the accepting is even more important. In the video, the group holds up signs about them, all of which could be used as an insult, and yet, they all accept it. From “LGBTQ+” to “Christain” and  “Jewish”, “Man” to “Woman” and “American”, this video celebrates the differences in the group.

The last cards held say the most. Even with all the differences, we all are human. We should really take to heart the lesson that everyone is human and deserves the respect that we do.

 

Leave a Reply

